Wednesday, May 03, 2017

3rd L’Œil d’or Lineup

For the third consecutive year the SCAM (Société civile des auteurs multimedia) will honor documentaries with the award L’Œil d’or and this morning organizers had their press conference where they announced the members of the jury and the films that will be considered for the 2017 award.

A little background from the official site about the award for our recall benefit.  Cinema has its roots in documentary film. This unique depiction of the world is becoming increasingly popular on the big screen and among the public. It is garnering more critical recognition and becoming more visible at festivals. As such, it deserves to be acknowledged at Cannes.

The L'Œil d’Or - Documentary Award was created in 2015 by LaScam (The French civil society for multimedia authors), in collaboration with the Cannes Festival and its General Delegate Thierry Frémaux, with the support of the INA (the French national audiovisual Institute). It will be awarded to a documentary screened in one of the Cannes Festival sections: Official Selection, Un Certain Regard, Cannes Classics, Directors' Fortnight, Semaine de la Critique, Special Screenings & Out of Competition and Short & Feature-Length Films.

On May 23 organizers will held the Doc Day 2017 that this year includes a conversation with Amos Gitaï plus more events where the documentary has the center stage. The Doc Day is organized by Cannes Marché du Film with the support of the Ford Foundation and the partnership of the CNC and the organizers of L’Œil d’or.

The following are the films that will be considered for the award and do include the documentaries in Cannes Classics as we learned them just a few minutes ago.

Official Selection
12 Jours (12 Days), Raymond Depardon, France
An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power, Bonni Cohen and Jon Shenk, USA
Carré 35, Eric Caravaca, France
Demons in Paradise, Jude Ratman, Sri Lanka and France
Le Vénérable W., Barbet Schroeder, France and Switzerland
Napalm, Claude Lanzmann, France
Promised Land, Eugene Jarecki, USA
Sea Sorrow, Vanessa Redgrave, UK
Visages, Villages, Agnès Varda and JR, France

Quinzaine des réalisateurs
Alive in France, Abel Ferrara, USA and France
Nothingwood, Sonia Kronlund, France
Retour à Genoa City, Benoit Grimalt, France, 28'
West of the Jordan River (Field Diary Revisited), Amos Gitaï, France and Israel

Semaine de la Critique
Los Desheredados, Laura Ferres, Spain, 18'
Makala, Emmanuel Gras, France

Cannes Classics
Cary Grant - De l’autre côté du miroir (Becoming Cary Grant), Mark Kidel, France
David Stratton-A Cinematic Life, Sally Aitken, Australia
Filmworker, Tony Zierra, USA
Jean Douchet, l’enfant agité, Fabien Hagège, Guillaume Namur and Vincent Haasser, France
La belge histoire du festival de Cannes (The Belgian’s Road to Cannes), Henri de Gerlache, Belgium

Earlier April organizers announced that Sandrine Bonnaire will be the president of the jury but today we learn that none other than outstanding filmmaker Lucy Walker is also in the jury along with Lorenzo Codelli, Dror Moreh and Thom Powers.

The Jury
President: Sandrine Bonnaire, actress, director and screenwriter, France
Lucy Walker, director, UK
Dror Moreh, director, Israel
Lorenzo Codelli, film critic, Italy
Thom Powers, film programmer, USA

This year the award will be presented on Saturday May 17 at 12:00 at the Palais des Festivals.  To read more about the award go official site here, available with some info in English but most data is in French.

The Press Conference

No comments yet